Niroot Puttapipat

Illustrator of Sense and Sensibility

As a child in his native Chiang Mai, northern Thailand, Niroot shared his time between drawing, devouring books, and playing out stories, leading to a lifelong interest in art, literature, history and the natural world. He studied Illustration at Kingston University. Whilst there, his illustrations for the Russian fairytale, The Firebird, were exhibited at Kingston Museum. He is passionately fond of the 'Golden Age' illustrators, Oriental art, and silhouettes. Niroot has illustrated several books for Walker Books and The Folio Society. Several of his illustrations for Folio's 150th anniversary edition of the Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám were exhibited at the British Library in late 2009/early 2010. He was also awarded the bronze prize in the Books category of the Association of Illustrators Images awards last year.  He now lives in London.

Previous publications:

The Musicians of Bremen, retold from the Brothers Grimm; Walker Books (2005)
Dragon's Egg, by Claire Hawcock; Walker Books (2006)
The Night Before Christmas, by Clement C. Moore; Walker Books (2007)
Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen; The Folio Society (2007)
Emma, Jane Austen; The Folio Society (2007)
Persuasion, Jane Austen; The Folio Society (2007)
The Red Fairy Book, Edited by Andrew Lang; The Folio Society (2008)
Myths and Legends of Russia, Collected by Alexander Afanas'ev and translated by Norbert Guterman; The Folio Society (2009)
Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám, translated by Edward FitzGerald; 150th anniversary edition limited to 1,000 copies, The Folio Society (2009)
Aladdin, Walker Books (2011)
Sense and Sensibility, Jane Austen; Palazzo Editions (2011)

Operation Red Jericho, by Joshua Mowll; Walker Books (2005)
Operation Typhoon Shore, by Joshua Mowll; Walker Books (2006)
Operation Storm City, by Joshua Mowll; Walker Books (2008)
Oxford Book of Children's Poetry, Edited by Michael Harrison and Christopher Stuart-Clark; OUP (2007)
Kingfisher Book of Classic Animal Stories, Edited by Sally Grindley; Kingfisher (2008)

Book Jackets:
Author, Author, by David Lodge, Random House (2004)
The Seance, by John Harwood; Random House (2008)
Molotov's Magic Lantern: A Jouney in Russian History, by Rachel Polonski; Faber and Faber (2010)
Luka and the Fire of Life, by Salman Rushdie; Random House US (2010)